Not getting interviews? Sending off numerous application forms daily? Then you are doing something wrong! 

It is all well and good if you have a good CV. But your CV is worthless if you are not using it correctly during the application process.

And here lies the key, the process. Ask yourself, “Am I sending off 1 CV for 10 jobs”? “Do I right a grammatically correct warm email when sending off my CV”? If you use 1 CV for 10 jobs then stop. If you just send your CV as an attachment then stop!

This is the Process in which you should always follow:

One CV for one Job. If you are applying for 10 jobs in a week then you will need to tweek and tailor your CV to suit the job you are going for – 10 times. So look carefully at the job role, is there a list of keywords in the job advert? If so, you now need to maybe change or add more key skills and maybe add another sentence to your personal profile. This way you are making your CV replicate what the job advert wants. Now before you say, “that’s lying, etc”, you obviously need to make sure you can give evidence/examples of these skills.

So, we now have a CV (or 10) which match what the employer is wanting. Double check your spelling and grammar and ask someone to proof-read it for you.

If you are emailing your CV as an attachment, then this is something you definitely need to know.
Writing “please find my CV attached”, is the quickest way for the employer to judge you on your first impression. And with this response, they can also use the quickest way to get rid of you. Pressing the delete key.

Look back on how you have previously applied for jobs and if this sounds familiar you need to stop. You need to send a warm email. Which is also known as email etiquette.

The email should go something (although not limited to) like this:

Good afternoon Mr Granger,

Please find my CV attached for the job advertised on TM Website – Ref 89789.

I would love the chance to meet with you to give you further information about the skills I have to offer. I have highlighted on my CV how I have used outstanding team working skills and feel that this skill has helped both myself, my peers and the company to reach their targets.

Also, when looking for further information about the company I love how you respect and encourage difference. This in itself gave me even more enthusiasm for applying for the job.

Thank you so much for taking time to read my CV. I do appreciate how busy you will be so if you need to contact me to discuss things further then please contact me at a time convenient to you.

Kind regards

Tracey Morewood

And then press send!

Can you see the difference from how you may have previously been sending off your CV?

This is the process in which you should always be following. Tailor your CV and your cover letter/email to what the employer is looking for.

About Tracey Morewood

I am currently an Employability Tutor and Contract Manager who's main aim is to help those out of work find the confidence and self-esteem to get back into work. I have been working within Offender Learning for almost 6 years but moved to experience different opportunities. Oh and those opportunities gave me the confidence to write and publish my own book. The name of this book is: How to get on the Employment Ladder; You have the skills now learn to develop them. I have helped many people gain employment, and for a lot of them this was something they never thought possible for one reason or another. Anything is possible if we believe in ourselves. My passion has always been about the learner and helping them progress and reach their full potential. Alongside working full time and creating my first book I am also a single mum of two teenage boys. So if there is anyone out there that says they 'can't' I will be saying 'you can'.
This entry was posted in Employability, job seekers, looking for a new job, searching for jobs, Un-employed, un-employment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

